On this page
WoW Forever keeps the nine classes of Classic and adds none, but it opens six race-class combinations that WoW Classic never offered and a new playable race, the Skyborne. Blizzard presents World of Warcraft: Forever as a new standalone WoW game set in a reimagined original Azeroth with new and expanded zones. It launches on 4 November 2026: the countdown on Blizzard’s Forever page ends at 23:00 UTC, which is 3:00 p.m. PST. Every class ability and talent below comes from Blizzard’s beta posts, and Blizzard notes they can still change before launch.
TL;DR
- Launch on 4 November 2026: nine classes, no new class, talents from level 10, Dual Specialization at level 40.
- Six combinations new compared with WoW Classic: Orc Mage, Troll Warlock, Undead Paladin, Human Hunter, Gnome Priest, Dwarf Shaman.
- Skyborne: Horde Windshaper and Alliance High Order, starting on Zephras Isle (levels 1 – 12); the Skyborne Heroic Pack or higher unlocks the race, but you still need a subscription or Game Time, and only the Epic Pack and the Collection include 30 days of it.
- Early Name Reservation: 27 October – 3 November, for pack pre-purchasers.
- Blizzard has published deep dives for all nine classes; every number in them is beta.
- Boosts, the WoW Token and a level cap above 60 are not mentioned in the Blizzard posts checked.
What Changes in the Class System
Warriors, Paladins, Hunters, Rogues, Priests, Shamans, Mages, Warlocks and Druids make up the roster; there is no tenth class. Talents open at level 10. The trees keep the same rows and the single-point milestones at 11, 21 and 31 points, and gain a fourth milestone at 16 points.
Talents that used to hand out key group buffs have been folded into the base kit. Blizzard’s Deep Dive Panel Recap names three of them: Blessing of Kings, Divine Spirit and Improved Mark of the Wild.
Talents, Legacy talents included, are reset at a class trainer in a major city, and Dual Specialization unlocks at level 40. No respec gold cost is given.
Where the grind outlasts the interest, World of Warcraft: Forever boosting picks it up from wherever the account already stands.
Six Race-Class Combinations WoW Classic Never Had
Blizzard’s character-creation post singles out six combinations, marked in the last column of the table below. “New” here means new compared with WoW Classic, not necessarily the first time in World of Warcraft as a whole. With them, every one of the nine classes is open to both the Horde and the Alliance; that is our reading of the matrix below, not a Blizzard sentence.
The table reproduces the full race and class matrix from Blizzard’s Create the Hero post for both factions, with a separate row for each Skyborne version. Tauren and Night Elf gain no class; the Skyborne are a new race.
| Race | Faction | Classes | New vs Classic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orc | Horde | Hunter, Mage, Rogue, Shaman, Warlock, Warrior | Mage |
| Tauren | Horde | Druid, Hunter, Shaman, Warrior | None |
| Troll | Horde | Hunter, Mage, Priest, Rogue, Shaman, Warlock, Warrior | Warlock |
| Undead | Horde | Mage, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Warlock, Warrior | Paladin |
| Windshaper Skyborne | Horde | Druid, Hunter, Rogue, Shaman, Warrior | New race |
| Dwarf | Alliance | Hunter, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Shaman, Warrior | Shaman |
| Gnome | Alliance | Mage, Priest, Rogue, Warlock, Warrior | Priest |
| Human | Alliance | Hunter, Mage, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Warlock, Warrior | Hunter |
| Night Elf | Alliance | Druid, Hunter, Priest, Rogue, Warrior | None |
| High Order Skyborne | Alliance | Druid, Hunter, Mage, Rogue, Warrior | New race |
Skyborne: Classes, Racials and the Pack Requirement

The Skyborne are a new playable race, and you pick their faction when you create the character: Windshaper Skyborne join the Horde, High Order Skyborne the Alliance. Both start on Zephras Isle, which covers levels 1 – 12. The intro of the character-creation post pairs Windshapers with Shaman and High Order with Mage, but its matrix and the Skyborne post give each version five classes. The Skyborne post also mentions druid forms made only for this race.
Both versions share the active racial Walk on Air (a 10-second downward glide) and two passives: Wind Blessed (1% more melee, ranged and spell Haste) and Elemental Insight (5% more damage against Elementals). The second active differs: Skysight gives Windshapers an Elemental Blessing worth 10% run speed, and Read Ley Line raises High Order Health and Mana regeneration by 100% once a ley line is activated.
Warning
A WoW subscription or Game Time is enough to play Forever with any other race. The Skyborne race and its Zephras Isle questline need the Skyborne Heroic Pack or a higher edition; per Blizzard’s Forever page, the unlock applies only to the WoW account the pack was bought for.
The pack unlocks the race; it does not replace the subscription. Forever, like the rest of WoW, needs a subscription or Game Time to play. The Skyborne Epic Pack and the Warcraft Forever Collection include 30 days of Game Time, added at launch; the Skyborne Heroic Pack does not, so with it you buy the subscription or Game Time separately.
| Version | Faction | Classes | Second active racial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Windshaper | Horde | Druid, Hunter, Rogue, Shaman, Warrior | Skysight |
| High Order | Alliance | Druid, Hunter, Mage, Rogue, Warrior | Read Ley Line |
Before Launch: Dates and the Time They Leave You
The open Stress Test took place on 21 October (2:00 p.m. PDT in North America, 19:00 CEST in Europe) and was open to anyone, with no subscription, Game Time, beta access or invite needed. Blizzard wiped every Stress Test character, name and guild afterward, so nothing from it reaches launch.
Early Name Reservation runs 27 October – 3 November for players who pre-purchased the Skyborne Heroic Pack, the Skyborne Epic Pack or the Warcraft Forever Collection. Per Blizzard’s name reservation post, it opens on 27 October at 1:00 p.m. PDT in North America and 18:00 CET in Europe. Eligible players can reserve up to three characters in total across all Rulesets, and names go to whoever claims them first. The closing hour on 3 November is not stated.
Blizzard has not published how long levelling from 1 to 60 takes. Three raids open on 9 December for level 60 characters: Onyxia’s Lair, Hyjal Summit and Barrow Deeps.
What Each Class Gets: Blizzard's Nine Deep Dives

Blizzard has now published deep dives for all nine classes, so older write-ups that call Mage, Rogue, Shaman and Warlock “not yet published” are out of date. The posts are Hunter and Druid, Priest and Warrior, Mage and Shaman, Rogue and Warlock and Paladin, which concludes the series. Everything below is beta. The table sums up each class in one line from Blizzard’s own conclusions in these posts; it is not a ranking.
| Class | Roles (per Blizzard) | Key change | Limit or caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Warrior | Tank or melee damage | Rage from dealing damage now depends on weapon speed | Few tools to recover after taking heavy damage |
| Paladin | Tank, healer or damage | Holy Strike at level 6; Judgment keeps the Seal | No interrupt, no slow, limited ranged tools |
| Hunter | Ranged damage; pet can tank solo | Aimed Shot baseline at 20; traps usable in combat | Ranged attacks unusable within 8 yards |
| Rogue | Melee damage | Poisons stack with temporary weapon enchants | Assassination is built around daggers |
| Priest | Healer or Shadow damage | Fear Ward and Devouring Plague for all at level 20 | Cloth armour and few ways to escape enemies |
| Shaman | Healer, melee or spell damage | Buff totems last 5 minutes instead of 2 | No effective crowd control |
| Mage | Ranged damage | Frostfire Bolt, a Fire and Frost spell, at level 40 | Extremely fragile if caught in melee |
| Warlock | Spell damage | Curse of Agony and Curse of Doom become Banes | Physically weak; relies on demon pets for protection |
| Druid | Any role: tank, healer or damage | Nature’s Grasp and Omen of Clarity baseline | No snare, Silence or Interrupt; weaker crowd control |
Hunter
Aimed Shot is baseline at level 20, and traps now work in combat, with their cooldown raised to 30 seconds. Pets scale with the Hunter’s gear, every pet family gets one ability of its own, and Foxes join as a new family.
Druid
Improved Mark of the Wild is baseline. The deep dive also makes Nature’s Grasp (level 10) and Omen of Clarity (level 20) baseline for every Druid, adds Lacerate at level 42 and adds Revive, an out-of-combat resurrection, at level 12.
Priest
Discipline, Holy and Shadow stay. Every Priest learns Fear Ward and Devouring Plague at level 20, Divine Spirit at level 30 and Shadow Word: Death at level 32, and new Holy talents such as Binding Heal and Prayer of Mending widen the healing kit.
Warrior
Rage from dealing damage now depends on weapon speed, and critical strikes give 75% more Rage than normal hits. Improved Battle Shout and Improved Demoralizing Shout are no longer talents; their effects are built into the base shouts.
Mage
The update asks Mages to pick the right school for each moment. Frostfire Bolt, a new level 40 spell that counts as both Fire and Frost, anchors hybrid builds. The new Fire talent Heating Up makes non-periodic crits from Fireball, Frostfire Bolt, Fire Blast and Scorch shorten the next Pyroblast cast by 25%, up to 3 stacks. Blizzard also shortened Cone of Cold and capped the Improved Blizzard slow at 40% instead of 65%, citing AoE farming by gold sellers and boosters.
Shaman
Totems that give lasting buffs now run 5 minutes instead of 2, every totem has a 1-second global cooldown, and a tracking UI shows what is active. Weapon imbues last 60 minutes instead of 5. Totemic Projection (level 22) moves all your totems up to 30 yards. Totemic Recall (level 20) is meant to destroy all your totems and return 25% of their Mana cost, but Blizzard’s Mage and Shaman post noted that a beta bug stopped the Mana from being refunded; whether that has been fixed is not stated.
Rogue
All poisons carry more charges and can sit on a weapon together with a temporary enchant such as a Sharpening Stone. Talent changes across Assassination, Combat and Subtlety cover dagger and non-dagger builds, finishers and bleeds, including Mutilate as a new 21-point dagger ability.
Warlock
Curse of Agony and Curse of Doom become Banes, a category kept apart from the utility Curses, with one Bane per Warlock on a target. Demons now draw on the Warlock’s own stats, and Firestone and Spellstone turn into weapon imbues that stack with temporary enchants like Wizard Oil.
Paladin
From level 6 every Paladin has Holy Strike, an instant attack for Holy damage based on 50% of weapon damage; Blizzard’s Deep Dive Panel Recap gives it a 12-second cooldown. Per the Paladin deep dive, every Paladin learns Consecration at level 20 instead of it being a Holy talent. It now deals moderate damage to the first four enemies that enter it and very low damage to all others, so it holds threat on only four targets at a time, in line with the Warrior’s Thunderclap. Casting Judgment no longer uses up the active Seal, and Protection gets Seal of Fury, a tanking Seal that suits fast weapons, adds small absorb shields and makes Judgment taunt. For Retribution, the talent Twist of Light brings back Seal Twisting without exact swing timing.
Racials: Two Active, Two Passive
In Forever every race has two active and two passive racials, reworked to feel stronger and more distinct. According to the Deep Dive Panel Recap, each race’s set is tuned to give roughly equal offensive value while keeping its signature utility.
- Will of the Forsaken still breaks Charm, Fear and Sleep, but it no longer protects you from them afterward.
- Cannibalize now refills Mana too, not only Health: 35% of each over time, per the character-creation post.
What Is Not Announced
Character boosts and the WoW Token do not appear in any Blizzard post listed in the table below. No level cap above 60 is stated, final non-beta class numbers are not fixed, edition prices are not in these posts, and the closing hour of Name Reservation is not given.
Our Take
Class choice is wide open, but the numbers are still moving.
The six combos new to Classic rules and the baseline buffs are the structural news; the per-class changes are beta and may shift before 4 November. Pick a class for its fantasy and its trainer-reset flexibility, and treat Skyborne as a separate paid decision.
Sources and Confidence
This table shows what the studio has confirmed. Each claim below is tied to the post and the game version it describes.
| Claim | Where it comes from | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Full race/class matrix, six combos new vs Classic, racial rework | Blizzard (news.blizzard.com) – Create the Hero You Want to Be | Official |
| Skyborne classes per faction, Zephras Isle 1 – 12, druid forms | Blizzard (news.blizzard.com) – Meet the New Skyborne | Official |
| Launch 4 November 2026; Skyborne needs Heroic Pack or higher | Blizzard (worldofwarcraft.blizzard.com) – WoW: Forever page | Official |
| Subscription or Game Time needed; 30 days only in Epic and Collection | Blizzard (worldofwarcraft.blizzard.com) – WoW: Forever page | Official |
| Launch hour 3:00 p.m. PST (page countdown ends 23:00 UTC) | Blizzard (worldofwarcraft.blizzard.com) – WoW: Forever page | Derived from official |
| Hunter and Druid deep dive; talents from level 10, Dual Spec at 40 | Blizzard (news.blizzard.com) – Class Deep Dives, Hunter and Druid | Official |
| Priest and Warrior deep dive, 30 September 2026 | Blizzard (news.blizzard.com) – Class Deep Dives, Priest and Warrior | Official |
| Mage and Shaman deep dive, 7 October; Totemic Recall beta bug | Blizzard (news.blizzard.com) – Class Deep Dives, Mage and Shaman | Official |
| Rogue and Warlock deep dive, 7 October 2026 | Blizzard (news.blizzard.com) – Class Deep Dives, Rogue and Warlock | Official |
| Paladin deep dive, 15 October 2026: Consecration on four targets | Blizzard (news.blizzard.com) – Class Deep Dives, Paladin | Official |
| Holy Strike 12-second cooldown; buffs made baseline; racials | Blizzard (news.blizzard.com) – Deep Dive Panel Recap | Official |
| Stress Test 21 October; Name Reservation 27 October – 3 November | [Updated Oct 16] Join the World of Warcraft: Forever Stress Test | Official |
| Name Reservation start times, three characters per player | Claim Your World of Warcraft: Forever Character Names | Official |
| First raids open 9 December for level 60 characters | Blizzard (news.blizzard.com) – Forever Raid Overview | Official |
Was this guide useful?
