On this page
Activision Support lists MW4 Campaign Early Access for Friday 16 October 2026 (PT), for digital Standard and Vault pre-orders or pre-purchases. The full game, with Multiplayer and DMZ, follows on 23 October. This explainer covers who qualifies, platforms, preload dates, and what waits for launch.
TL;DR
- The Standard Digital Edition is enough: the Vault Edition does not open the Campaign any earlier — both start on 16 October.
- Per Activision Support, Campaign Early Access is listed for Friday 16 October (PT), for digital Standard and Vault pre-orders or pre-purchases; the June 12 announcement notes the start date and platform availability are subject to change.
- Who: digital pre-orders or pre-purchases of the Standard Digital Edition or Vault Edition, on any listed platform. The Physical Standard Edition is not in Activision’s list of editions with Early Access.
- Playable on 16 October: the full Campaign. Multiplayer and DMZ arrive on 23 October; Activision’s PC post gives midnight local time for PC.
- PC preload starts 15 October at 9am PT. Early Access carry-over, exact start time and Campaign length are not published.
What Is MW4 Campaign Early Access and When Does It Start?
Campaign Early Access lets eligible pre-order owners play the full Modern Warfare 4 Campaign a week before the worldwide launch. The game is developed by Infinity Ward and published by Activision. The Campaign follows Private Park, a young South Korean soldier, alongside a separate thread with Captain Price operating outside his former chain of command. Activision Support gives the start as Friday, October 16 (PT), and the June 12 announcement notes that the start date and platform availability are subject to change. This is separate from the August Open Beta, where one Campaign mission, Entrenched, was playable; see our Call of Duty NEXT and MW4 Beta recap for that.

| Milestone | Date as published |
|---|---|
| PC preload begins | 15 October, 9am PT |
| Campaign Early Access | Friday 16 October (PT); no clock time published |
| Full game launch | 23 October: midnight local time on PC; 04:00 UTC on the PlayStation Store |
PC preload is for digital pre-purchasers on Xbox on PC, Battle.net and Steam.
Who Gets MW4 Campaign Early Access: Editions and Loyalty Discount
Any digital pre-order or pre-purchase of the Standard Digital Edition or Vault Edition qualifies, on any platform Activision lists. The Vault Edition is digital only and includes the Digital Standard Edition. The June 12 Early Access post names only the digital editions, so the console-only Physical Standard Edition is not listed as having Early Access. Both the Vault and Cross-Gen/Standard tabs on the official play-now page list “Campaign Early Access, Starting October 16”.
Who qualifies for the 10% Vault loyalty discount
Per Activision Support, eligible console and PC players must have owned and played a qualifying title, including qualifying titles claimed and played through PS Plus Monthly Games. Active Game Pass Ultimate, Premium or PC subscribers can qualify by having played a qualifying title through Game Pass. The discount applies to a direct digital Vault pre-order, on the same platform account as the qualifying ownership, and runs until 23 October. Activision’s pre-order post describes the qualifying titles as premium Call of Duty games released since Modern Warfare (2019).
Warning
The Standard Digital-to-Vault upgrade costs $30 US SRP or the regional equivalent and does not receive the loyalty discount. Physical pre-orders cannot be upgraded to Vault.
On price: the US PlayStation Store lists MW4 Standard at $69.99 and the Vault Edition at $99.99; Activision’s own pages print no edition prices. The Campaign length is not published, so an hours-to-finish figure cannot be given yet.
| Edition | Early Access | Price (US) | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard Digital | Yes | $69.99 | Upgradable to Vault for $30 |
| Vault (digital only) | Yes | $99.99 | 10% loyalty discount on direct pre-order only |
| Physical Standard (console) | Not listed | — | No upgrade path to Vault |
The 10% Vault Loyalty Discount applies only when pre-ordering the Vault Edition directly, and only until 23 October — it does not apply to the Standard-to-Vault upgrade path.
MW4 Early Access Platforms, Preload and Game Pass

Per Activision’s Call of Duty blog, Modern Warfare 4 is coming to Xbox Series X|S, Xbox on PC, PlayStation 5, Battle.net, Steam and Nintendo Switch 2, with no PS4 or Xbox One release. The game will not be on Xbox Game Pass at launch. Nintendo Switch 2 pre-orders have been live through the Nintendo eShop since 26 August 2026 for both digital editions. On PC, digital pre-purchasers can preload from 15 October at 9am PT ahead of the 23 October release. No console preload date is published on the Call of Duty pages we checked.
PC checklist before 16 October
- Security: TPM 2.0 and Secure Boot are required on PC.
- Storage: 115 GB on an SSD, plus space for mandatory updates.
- Minimum: Windows 10 64-bit, Ryzen 5 1400 or Core i5-6600, 8 GB RAM, GTX 970/1060, RX 470 or Arc A580 with 3 GB of video memory.
- Recommended (90 FPS in multiplayer on High): Windows 11, Ryzen 5 3600 or Core i7-8700K, 16 GB RAM, RTX 3060 Ti, RX 6600 XT or Arc B580.
- CPU and GPU notes: only Intel and AMD processors with AVX are supported; Intel Arc needs Resizable BAR.
- Drivers and shaders: AMD 26.7.1, NVIDIA 616.56, Intel 32.0.101.8974; Activision advises installing the Xbox PC app on any PC platform so Advanced Shader Delivery can deliver precompiled shaders at install.
All from Activision’s PC tech specs post (29 September 2026), which notes the specs may be updated.
What You Can Play on 16 October vs What Waits for 23 October
Early Access covers the Campaign only. Multiplayer and DMZ arrive with the full game on 23 October. DMZ progression therefore cannot start during Campaign Early Access. Our MW4 Campaign Completion opens at launch on 23 October; we do not take Campaign orders for the Early Access week. Its Player Level runs from 1 to 70, according to the DMZ deep dive.
Nintendo Switch 2 gets the Campaign, Multiplayer and DMZ on the same 23 October date as other platforms.
| Content | When |
|---|---|
| Full Campaign | From 16 October (PT) with Early Access; everyone else from 23 October |
| Multiplayer | 23 October |
| DMZ | 23 October |
| Vault Edition Operator Packs and Signature Weapon Collection | At game launch on 23 October, per Blizzard's editions post |
| Vault Edition DMZ Deployment Bonus | Additional content within DMZ; itemized contents and delivery date are not stated in the Activision Support editions page |

What Activision Has Not Announced Yet
In the Early Access blog post, the Activision Support editions page and the pre-order benefits post, the following are not stated:
- Whether Early Access Campaign progress, unlocks or rewards carry over to the 23 October launch.
- The exact start time beyond “(PT)” and any per-region schedule.
- Mission count and total Campaign length.
- The contents of the DMZ Deployment Bonus.
- Console preload dates.
Our Take
A clear, Campaign-only head start for digital buyers, with a few practical gaps left open.
If you only care about the story, a digital pre-order is the listed way in on 16 October. If you plan to play Multiplayer or DMZ, the extra week changes little, since both start on 23 October. Check the official Call of Duty blog close to the date, because Activision flags the start date and platform availability as subject to change.
Sources and Confidence
This table separates what the studio has confirmed and what is not confirmed yet. Each claim below is tied to the post and the game version it describes.
| Claim | Where it comes from | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Early Access for digital Standard or Vault pre-orders from Friday 16 October | Activision, Call of Duty blog (12 June 2026) | Official |
| Full Campaign Early Access starts Friday, October 16 (PT); all digital editions | Activision Support, MW4 editions page | Official |
| Vault upgrade is $30 US SRP; physical not eligible; loyalty discount not for upgrades | Activision, Call of Duty blog (pre-order benefits and editions) | Official |
| PC preload 15 October 9am PT; full game on PC 23 October at midnight local time | Activision, Call of Duty blog (PC trailer and tech specs, 29 September 2026) | Official |
| Multiplayer and DMZ arrive with the full game on 23 October | Activision, Call of Duty blog (Nintendo Switch 2 beta post, 26 August 2026) | Official |
| Standard .99 and Vault .99; PlayStation release 23 October 04:00 UTC | PlayStation Store US, MW4 Standard and MW4 Vault, read 8 October 2026 | Official |
| PC requirements: TPM 2.0, Secure Boot, 115 GB SSD, minimum and recommended specs, drivers, Xbox PC app for shaders | Activision, PC tech specs post, 29 September 2026 | Official |
Was this guide useful?
