En esta página

WARDOGS doesn’t give you a class screen. It gives you six XP progression tracks, and XP is tied to the specialist items in your loadout rather than to a class you select before the match. There’s no “Medic” button to press — there’s a med kit you either paid for or didn’t. This guide breaks down what BULKHEAD has said about the system, why your cash balance is the real gatekeeper, and what’s still officially unknown two days out from Early Access.

En resumen

  • Role tracks aren’t picked from a menu — XP follows the specialist items you buy into your loadout
  • BULKHEAD’s own line on it: “roles are totally player-defined”
  • Only two of six tracks have been named officially: Medic and Pilot
  • Cash persists between matches and gets spent on gear, vehicles, or converted into Gold Bars — that spending decision is what actually decides which track climbs
  • Whether beta progress carries into Early Access is not addressed in the official sources reviewed for this guide

What Are Role Tracks in WARDOGS?

Role tracks are WARDOGS‘s progression system, developed by BULKHEAD and published by Team17. Instead of choosing a class at the start of a match, you buy a loadout — weapons, gear, vehicles — and the specialist items you carry are what earn XP across those tracks. BULKHEAD uses Medic and Pilot as its examples, which suggests medical and aviation gear feed those two tracks — but the exact item-to-track mapping has not been published, and neither has the answer to whether one loadout can advance more than one track at a time. Nothing locks you to one track between lives; the next loadout you can afford is the next role you’re playing.

6total role tracks
2tracks officially named
3playable factions
PistaEstadoWhat's known
MedicConfirmed named trackTied to healing and revive specialist gear
PilotConfirmed named trackTied to aircraft and vehicle specialist gear
Remaining four tracksUnnamed by BULKHEADExist per the studio's "6 progression tracks" line, no names attached

Not everyone has the evenings for this — Boosting de WARDOGS covers the same ground with someone else on the keys.

How Buying a Loadout Levels a Track, Not a Menu Choice

The clearest official statement on this comes from BULKHEAD’s “WARDOGS – TOP QUESTIONS” Steam post from February 2026, where the studio put it directly: “roles are totally player-defined”. The rest of that explanation, in the studio’s own words, describes buying specialist items to build a loadout that earns XP across six progression tracks, with an explicit example running from a medic build to a pilot build — a system meant to work either for fun or to min/max your return on investment every life.

Reading that literally, there is no separate progression menu where you pick Medic and then go find medic gear to match — the gear purchase is the mechanism. The studio has not described a class-selection screen; this is our reading of its wording, not a line it published. What’s worth buying into for the Pilot track specifically is broken down in the WARDOGS vehicles guide.

Consejo

Because roles are loadout-defined, changing specialist items between lives should let you redirect your progression. BULKHEAD has not explained whether one loadout can advance multiple tracks at once, so treat this as the shape of the mechanic rather than a measured rule. What is certain is the cost: the only penalty for switching is a cash one.

Cash Is the Real Limiter on Which Track Levels Up

Per the studio’s own description, cash persists on your account between matches rather than resetting each round, and it gets spent on weapons, gear and vehicles — or converted into Gold Bars, the endgame currency used for cosmetics in the Gold Market. That single wallet is shared across all six tracks. Every dollar you put into a Pilot-tier loadout is a dollar not available for a Medic-tier one, which means your progression across tracks is really a spending decision dressed up as a leveling system.

Nobody outside BULKHEAD has published real numbers yet on cash-per-match or the price of a given specialist item, so any specific “X hours to unlock track Y” figure circulating before Early Access launches should be treated as a guess, not a fact. What’s actually confirmed is structural, not numerical: cash carries across matches and one life funds one loadout. Whether that loadout can feed two tracks at once — and therefore whether a second track really costs you the first — is exactly what the studio has not said.

What BULKHEAD Has Confirmed vs What's Still a Guess

ClaimWhere it's statedEstado
Loadout is player-defined; no fixed classes"WARDOGS – TOP QUESTIONS," Steam, 18 Feb 2026Official
Six progression tracks exist, one per roleSame postOfficial
Medic and Pilot are two of the six namedSame postNamed only
Names of the remaining four tracksNot stated in any official BULKHEAD materialUnconfirmed
Cash carries between matches; convertible to Gold BarsSame postOfficial
Whether beta cash/XP carries into Early AccessNot addressed in the official sources reviewed for this guideUnconfirmed
One loadout can advance more than one track at a timeNot stated either way in the reviewed materialUnconfirmed
Exact item-to-track mapping (which item feeds which track)Only the Medic and Pilot examples; no mapping publishedUnconfirmed
Whether XP is awarded for owning, using, or performing actions with an itemNot describedUnconfirmed

What that means if you buy the levelling instead of grinding it. Because the item-to-track mapping isn’t published, an order here is measured the only way that is currently verifiable: by the level of the track you name. You pick the track, you get the level — the booster works out which purchases feed it, which is exactly the part nobody outside BULKHEAD can chart yet. Nothing is promised about the four unnamed tracks, and nothing is quoted in XP per hour, because neither figure exists in public.

Common Misconceptions About WARDOGS Role Tracks

“WARDOGS has six classes, you just need to find them”

Not accurate. There is no class list in a menu to browse. The six tracks are XP categories that respond to purchases; there is no in-game screen where you select “Assault” or “Recon” and lock in a kit. If you’ve seen a site listing all six by name, treat it as a guess dressed up as a fact list — the studio has only confirmed two.

“Beta progress will definitely wipe before Early Access”

This gets repeated a lot, but BULKHEAD hasn’t said it one way or the other in any post reviewed for this guide. It’s a reasonable assumption for a beta-to-launch transition in general, but it isn’t confirmed, and treating it as settled fact is getting ahead of the studio’s own communication.

Advertencia

BULKHEAD has confirmed two track names. Any list of six is unofficial.

Our Take: Is the Loadout-as-Class System Worth Learning Before Launch?

Nuestra opinión

Worth understanding now, not worth over-planning around yet.

The core idea is genuinely simple once it clicks: your class is your last purchase, not a menu selection, and BULKHEAD’s own framing backs that up directly.

The honest move before Early Access is to learn the mechanic, not the meta. Wait for BULKHEAD to name the remaining four tracks and publish real economy numbers before building a spending plan around a system that’s still two-thirds unlabeled.

Sources and Confidence

Where each claim comes from, and how far to trust it.

ClaimWhere it comes fromEstado
BULKHEAD states roles are totally player-defined, built by purchasing specialist itemsBULKHEAD, “WARDOGS – TOP QUESTIONS” (Steam, 18 Feb 2026)Developer quote
Loadout purchases earn XP across 6 progression tracks, from Medic to PilotBULKHEAD, “WARDOGS – TOP QUESTIONS” (Steam, 18 Feb 2026)Official
The ‘WARDOGS – TOP QUESTIONS’ Steam post is the original studio explanation of the roles/tracks systemBULKHEAD via Steam NewsOfficial
The reviewed official explanation explicitly names Medic and Pilot; the other four are not named thereBULKHEAD, “WARDOGS – TOP QUESTIONS” (Steam, 18 Feb 2026)Named only
Whether beta progress carries into Early Access is not addressed in the official sources reviewedNot stated in any official BULKHEAD or Steam post reviewedUnconfirmed

¿Te ha resultado útil esta guía?

FAQ

How many role tracks does WARDOGS have?
Six. BULKHEAD has confirmed the number directly but has only named two of them publicly — Medic and Pilot.
Can I switch which role track I'm leveling mid-match?
Yes, functionally. Since tracks follow whatever loadout you buy for a given life, changing your purchase on your next respawn changes which track earns XP. The limit isn't a cooldown, it's your cash balance.
Is this the same as picking a class in a game like Battlefield?
Not really. In a fixed-class shooter you select a role and it defines your access to gear. In WARDOGS it runs the other way: the gear you can afford defines which role you're effectively playing, and that role can change every life.
Will progress from the beta carry over into Early Access?
Unconfirmed. BULKHEAD has not addressed this in any official post reviewed for this guide, so treat any claim either way as unverified until the studio says otherwise.
What are the other four role tracks likely to be called?
Unknown, and worth resisting the urge to guess. BULKHEAD has named only Medic and Pilot; any other name attached to the system right now is community speculation, not studio confirmation.