En esta página

The Deep North update for Valheim added more than thirty named crafting materials, and this checklist groups the named materials — Frostcore, Bloodgold, Moose Hide, Timberwood and the rest — by category, alongside the two new production stations and three station extensions the patch notes name. Valheim 1.0 launched on 9 September 2026 from developer Iron Gate and publisher Coffee Stain Publishing, and this checklist separates the official content list from recipe details documented in an in-game press guide.

En resumen

  • The 1.0 crafting section names 30+ new materials, 11 trophies and four plantables — Kale, Oats, Poteitr and Timberwood.
  • Two new production stations (Frigid Kiln, Frost Foundry) and three extensions (Smith’s Aprons, Smoker, Standing Loom) were added, each extension tied to an existing station.
  • The patch notes confirm four Bloodgold ammunition types and a dedicated storage stack; they do not state that Bloodgold is used to craft the Nord, Frostfire, or Thunderblood weapon lines, nor where to find or refine it — any weapon-line link is a community inference, not a stated recipe.
  • The station recipes and the Frostcore link are documented from the live game by PC Gamer (both stations cost 10 Frostcore; Ice unlocks the kiln, Frostcore the foundry); Bloodgold comes from Gammeltrolls and is used with a Mould to make a Cast — per the same guide, not the notes.
  • Hotfixes 1.0.10 and 1.0.12 touched snow clearing, the Timberwood Drawbridge, and item-stand durability — with one bug still only partly fixed.
Most wanted Valheim

Carga de mineral y lingotes

Farmeo de recursos

Copper, tin, iron, silver or black metal — mined, carted past the ocean that eats loaded…

Pago retenido hasta que confirmes

What Are the Deep North Materials in Valheim?

The Deep North materials are the new crafting-item category Iron Gate added with Valheim 1.0, covering everything from frozen ores to animal parts to purchasable seasonings. The official patch notes list Bloodgold, Crown Jewel, Dead Pulp, Elaking Hair Bundle, Embers, Frostcore, Frostfire Essence, Frozen Branch, Hook, Ice, Leather Straps, Liquid Frost, Long Claws, Moose Hide, Moose Meat, Moose Sinew, Molds & Casts, Nornathread, Petrified Tissue, Seal Blubber, Seal Pelt, a purchaseable Seasoning of the Gourd, Thunderblood Essence, Timberwood and Writhan Roots under the Crafting section, alongside eleven new creature trophies including Barka, Elaking, Eyeless One, Frost Blob, Hexen, Krigen, Lava Blob, Moose, Pulp, Seal and Writhan Trophies. Players care about this list because it’s effectively the recipe backbone for the entire new biome — every Nord, Frostfire and Thunderblood weapon in the update draws on some combination of these materials, even though the patch notes themselves don’t spell out which recipe uses what.

30+new crafting materials
11new trophy types
4new plantables

For the wider rundown of everything the update shipped — weapons, armour sets, dungeons — the Deep North update overview covers the full patch beyond just materials.

Scale of new content by category (per the abbreviated patch notes)

Building pieces80+
Armas40+
Crafting materials30+
Food items20+
Trophy materials11
ItemQty for a first baseConseguirTool / stationUnlocks or feedsEstado
Frostcore20 (10 per station)Winding Tunnels, overhead depositsPickaxe; the Frost Foundry recipe appears when you first touch oneFrigid Kiln and Frost Foundry recipesPress guide (PC Gamer, 9 Sep), in-game screenshots
Ice5 for the kiln, then more as fuelSlippery ice patches on frozen waterBlack metal pickaxe; the Frigid Kiln recipe appears when you pick Ice upLiquid Frost (in the kiln)Press guide (PC Gamer)
Stone40 (20 per station) + 5 for a campfireAnywherePickaxeBoth stationsPress guide (PC Gamer)
Iron15Swamp crypts (Scrap Iron → Smelter)Pickaxe, SmelterFrost FoundryPress guide (PC Gamer)
Liquid FrostCheck the current foundry requirement; no universal quantity established hereFrigid Kiln, from IceFrigid KilnCasting Deep North items, incl. the Intricate KeyPress guide (PC Gamer)
Mould1 per CastWinding Tunnels loot—Cast (with Bloodgold)Press guide (PC Gamer)
Bloodgold5 for an Intricate Key Cast; not a universal Cast costPetrified Tissue from Gammeltroll remains → Blast Furnace (PC Gamer)Ember charges and Blast FurnaceCast → Intricate Key at the Frost FoundryPress guide; ammunition use per notes
Llave intrincada1 per Mörkhalla doorCrafted: Mould + 5 Bloodgold → Cast, then Cast + Liquid Frost in the Frost Foundry (about a minute)Black Forge → Frost Foundry; Liquid Frost from Frigid KilnMörkhalla accessPress guide (PC Gamer) — it is crafted, not found
Embers2 for the Snow ShovelEternal Pyre (placed with the Fader Relic)Level-3 Black Forge (Snow Shovel: 5 Fine Wood, 4 Flametal, 2 Embers)Snow ShovelCommunity guides, consistent
TimberwoodPiece costs not publishedDeep North wood; plantable per the notesCultivator to plant; axe to fellTimber, Decorated Timber and Timberwood Drawbridge setsOfficial (named, plantable); quantities not published
Also named in the notes, no quantities published—Frostfire Essence, Thunderblood Essence, Crown Jewel, Nornathread, Petrified Tissue; creature parts (Elaking Hair Bundle, Hook, Long Claws, Moose Hide/Meat/Sinew, Seal Blubber/Pelt, Writhan Roots, Dead Pulp, Frozen Branch, Leather Straps); 11 trophies (Barka, Elaking, Eyeless One, Frost Blob, Hexen, Krigen, Lava Blob, Moose, Pulp, Seal, Writhan); plantables Kale, Oats, Poteitr; purchasable Seasoning of the Gourd—Deep North gear, food and build setsOfficial names; recipes not in the notes

Where the grind outlasts the interest, Boosting de Valheim picks it up from wherever the account already stands.

Where to Get Deep North Materials in Valheim

A snow-dusted plot of young timberwood saplings growing near a wooden outpost.
Illustration: Cultivating Timberwood instead of hauling it from the wild

Some sources are stated plainly in the patch notes and some are not. The four new plantables — Kale, Oats, Poteitr and Timberwood — are grown rather than looted, and Timberwood is plantable, which lets you farm the tier’s building material instead of hauling it, and it feeds the new Scalewood structures, according to third-party reporting on the update. The eleven trophies line up with named new enemies — Barka, Elaking, Eyeless One, Hexen, Krigen, Moose, Seal, Writhan and the various Pulp variants all appear in the same patch notes’ creature list, which strongly implies each trophy drops from its namesake creature, though the notes never state that link directly. Two trophies break that pattern: Frost Blob and Lava Blob are listed as materials with no matching enemy entry in the same notes, so their actual source is unstated. Bloodgold is the trickiest of the bunch — the patch notes confirm what it’s for but not where it comes from. The official notes are clear about what Bloodgold is for — four Bloodgold ammunition types (Arrow, Bolt, Missile, Payload) and a dedicated storage stack — but just as clear by omission about what they don’t cover: no mining location, no refining process, no confirmed smelting station, and no numeric stats. PC Gamer’s illustrated in-game walkthrough provides that missing chain: defeat a Gammeltroll, break its petrified remains with ember charges, then smelt the Petrified Tissue into Bloodgold in a Blast Furnace. This is reported gameplay evidence, not a recipe printed in the official patch notes.

Consejo

The patch notes mention a rare-drop rework aimed at cutting down on kills that never produce a reward, so grinding named Deep North creatures for their trophies should feel less like a slot machine than earlier biomes did — though no specific drop rate is given.

ConseguirQué incluyeRequirement (per patch notes, where stated)Who it suits
Farming plotsKale, Oats, Poteitr, TimberwoodPlantable status confirmed; growing conditions and seed sources not statedPlayers who'd rather grow than grind
Named new creatures (Moose, Seal, Elaking, Hexen, Krigen, etc.)Matching trophy + associated parts (Hide, Sinew, Blubber, Pelt, Hair Bundle)Combat; exact drop chances not statedCombat-focused players
Winding Tunnels beneath village buildingsFrostcore and Moulds; the Intricate Key is crafted later, not collected as tunnel lootPrepare for tunnel combat; do not confuse this first gathering step with locked castle accessExplorers willing to clear structures
Haldor / purchasable slotsSeasoning of the Gourd, inventory upgradesNamed as purchaseable in the notes; price not statedPlayers skipping the farm for a specific item

Best Deep North Materials Farming Methods

The patch notes don’t publish drop rates or recipe costs; the two station recipes are documented from the live game by PC Gamer (Frigid Kiln 10 Frostcore, 20 Stone, 5 Ice — unlocked by picking up Ice; Frost Foundry 10 Frostcore, 15 Iron, 20 Stone — unlocked by touching a Frostcore), so “best method” here means matching effort to those two builds and to what the notes confirm exists.

On the time cost: the patch notes don’t give a recipe list, so there’s no way to state a total hour count for a “finished Nord loadout” honestly — what’s known is that the checklist itself spans 30+ materials, 11 trophies and four plantables before any station is even built, so choose a specific crafting target before gathering everything — the Valheim 1.0 overview covers the rest of the update.

MethodSpeedEffortBest for
Plant and harvest Kale/Oats/Poteitr/TimberwoodSlow to start, passive afterLow once establishedLong-term bases and food/build stockpiling
Hunt named creatures for trophies and partsDepends on spawn density (not stated)Moderate to highPlayers building the new armour sets
Clear Winding Tunnels for Frostcore and Moulds; craft Casts laterSlow, dungeon-boundHighPlayers chasing the two new stations
Prepare the documented Bloodgold chainUnverifiedUnverifiedPlayers preparing key crafting; see the linked gameplay source

Deep North Materials Rewards and What You Unlock

Two new timber and stone crafting structures standing in a snowy clearing, one glowing faintly blue and the other faintly orange.
Illustration: New stations standing ready in the frozen north

The payoff for gathering these materials is access to the two new production stations and three station extensions, plus the weapon and ammunition lines tied to Bloodgold, Frostfire Essence and Thunderblood Essence by name.

Frostfire and Thunderblood essences

Deep North progression introduces a completely new collection of metals, creature drops, essences, plants, crafting components, and production stations, and the patch notes list a full Frostfire weapon line (Sword through Crossbow) and an identical Thunderblood line next to their matching essence materials. The naming pattern is obvious, but the notes never state that Frostfire Essence is literally the crafting cost for a Frostfire Sword — that’s an inference from shared names, not a confirmed recipe.

Bloodgold ammunition

The patch notes list Bloodgold Arrow, Bloodgold Bolt, Bloodgold Missile and Bloodgold Payload as new ammunition types, plus a separate Bloodgold Stack for storage. None of the four ammo types have a stated crafting cost in the notes, so verify quantities against the current in-game recipe. A tested recipe from gameplay is a different source from an estimate; absence from patch notes does not make it false.

RewardHow you get it (per patch notes)Why it matters
Frigid KilnNew production station, named in patch notes; build cost not statedThird-party guides tie it to Liquid Frost production, unconfirmed officially
Frost FoundryNew production station, named in patch notes; build cost not statedWidely described in guides as the finishing station for Nord-tier gear, unconfirmed officially
Smith's ApronsBlack Forge extension, per patch notesExtends existing weapon/armour crafting rather than adding a new bench
SmokerCauldron extension, per patch notesExtends food cooking off the existing Cauldron
Standing LoomGaldr Table extension, per patch notesExtends the Galdr Table's existing crafting role

Common Misconceptions About Deep North Materials

Frostcore and recipe unlocks

The recipe unlock described above is documented by PC Gamer with in-game screenshots. It should be attributed to that walkthrough, not presented as a quote from the patch notes or dismissed as a naming-based guess.

Bloodgold refining is not the same as making a Cast

For the Intricate Key, the documented sequence is: Blast Furnace for Bloodgold; Black Forge for the Cast; Frost Foundry to finish the key using Liquid Frost from the Frigid Kiln. A Mould is not put directly into the Frost Foundry.

“Every trophy matches a named enemy in the patch notes”

Mostly true, but not entirely. Nine of the eleven trophies — Barka, Elaking, Eyeless One, Hexen, Krigen, Moose, Pulp, Seal and Writhan — line up with creatures named elsewhere in the same notes. Frost Blob and Lava Blob don’t have a matching creature entry in the Creatures section, so assuming they drop from an obvious source is a guess, not a confirmed fact.

Advertencia

The updated official 1.0.12 notice limits the item-stand fix to stands you have not approached since 1.0. Keep backups before removing valuable items if you already played nearby; the notice does not promise to repair previously affected items.

Related service Valheim

Montaje de estaciones de trabajo

Construcción de base

Workbench, forge, artisan table, black forge, galdr table and every upgrade piece each one…

Pago retenido hasta que confirmes

What the 1.0.10 and 1.0.12 Hotfixes Changed

Two hotfixes landed two days after launch and both touch things that matter for a materials run. Punching snow no longer removes it, while landing on a snowy area without directly walking over it now causes the snow to disappear, which changes how you clear space before placing Timberwood or Scalewood structures. Separately, players had discovered a couple of days earlier that the new Timberwood drawbridges were too narrow to fit a cart across, and the fix for that shipped in this same patch. Greydwarf Shamans in the Deep North were also dealing and healing too much, and that’s now fixed. On the platform split: 1.0.10 is listed for all platforms, while 1.0.12 is listed as Steam-only, with its fixes planned for other platforms through an upcoming hotfix whose release date has not been communicated. This describes the platform split in the 11 September notice, not a live inventory of every console build; check your platform’s latest patch before assuming a fix is absent. Anyone running mods or a long-lived world should back up character and world saves before updating, given both the scale of new content and the item-stand bug above — and if you’ve used dev commands anywhere near your build, the devcommand cheat-flag guide covers how that flag interacts with achievements.

Our Take: Are the Deep North Materials Worth Farming Now?

Nuestra opinión

Gather toward a recipe, not toward the entire material list.

Use the station checklist to prepare your crafting setup, then check the specific item you want in the current game. The official notes establish what was added; the linked gameplay walkthrough supplies a practical example for the Intricate Key. Do not generalize that key’s costs to every weapon or treat missing patch-note recipes as proof that all crafting guides are guesses. Bring a recovery plan too: our skills and death penalty guide covers the risks of a failed materials run.

Sources and Confidence

This table distinguishes official patch notes from the linked, illustrated gameplay walkthrough. Recipe evidence from gameplay is not the same as an official patch-note statement.

ClaimWhere it comes fromEstado
1.0 patch notes list 30+ named crafting materials including Bloodgold and FrostcoreSteam Community (official announcements)Official
Patch notes list 11 named trophy materials from Barka to WrithanSteam Community (official announcements)Official
Bloodgold is confirmed only for four ammunition types and a storage stack; any link to the weapon lines is a community inferenceSteam Community (official announcements) (Crafting section) — weapon-line claims circulate in third-party guides onlyOfficial / Unconfirmed
Station recipes and the Intricate Key crafting chainPC Gamer: illustrated Intricate Key walkthroughReported gameplay, not official patch notes
Hotfix 1.0.10 is on all platforms while 1.0.12 is Steam-only pending rolloutIron Gate (official hotfix notice)Official
Official hotfix text warns against removing high-level items from stands without backupsValheim (official site)Official

¿Te ha resultado útil esta guía?

SKIP THE GRIND

Servicios de Valheim

ALL 21 SERVICES →

Progresión de jefes

Derrota de un jefe y trofeo

You name the Forsaken — Eikthyr, the Elder, Bonemass, Moder, Yagluth, the Queen or Fader. Summoned at your altar…

Single Boss Kill and Trophy

Equipo y comida

Kit inicial

Hacha, pico, martillo, azada, primer set de armadura y la cadena de bancos de trabajo que hay detrás. Las dos tardes que nadie disfruta, hechas.

Starter Kit

Farmeo de recursos

Carga de madera y piedra

Full stacks of wood, core wood, fine wood and stone delivered to a chest you name. Enough to raise a stone hall rather…

Timber and Stone Haul
10 % de descuento en tu primer pedidoCopy the code, paste it at checkout
Use on Valheim boosting →

Preguntas frecuentes

What is Bloodgold used for in Valheim 1.0?
The patch notes confirm four Bloodgold ammunition types — Bloodgold Arrow, Bolt, Missile and Payload — plus a dedicated Bloodgold storage stack. They do not say Bloodgold is used to craft the Nord, Frostfire or Thunderblood weapons; that link appears only in community guides, and the notes give no mining location, refining station or numbers.
Where do I find Frostcore in Valheim?
Frostcore is named as a material in the official patch notes with no location given. PC Gamer's in-game guide places it in the Winding Tunnels — "they look like glowing blue ice and are typically overhead" — and says touching your first Frostcore unlocks the Frost Foundry recipe; picking up Ice unlocks the Frigid Kiln. Both stations cost 10 Frostcore each (plus 20 Stone and 5 Ice for the kiln; 15 Iron and 20 Stone for the foundry).
What are the two new production stations in the Deep North update?
The Frigid Kiln and Frost Foundry, both named in the 1.0 patch notes. The notes give no cost; PC Gamer's guide written in the live game does: Frigid Kiln 10 Frostcore, 20 Stone, 5 Ice (unlocked by picking up Ice); Frost Foundry 10 Frostcore, 15 Iron, 20 Stone (unlocked by touching a Frostcore). The kiln turns Ice into Liquid Frost; the foundry processes a prepared Cast with Liquid Frost, not a raw Mould.
Which stations do the three new extensions attach to?
Smith's Aprons attaches to the Black Forge, Smoker attaches to the Cauldron, and Standing Loom attaches to the Galdr Table — all three pairings are stated directly in the patch notes.
Is the item-stand durability bug fully fixed?
Only conditionally. The updated 1.0.12 notice says the fix applies if you have not approached the affected stands since 1.0. Back up before removing valuable items if you already played nearby; do not assume previously affected items are repaired.